EMAP Accreditation

Tufts is seeking emergency management accreditation as part of the Multiyear Strategic Plan for the university’s emergency management program. A team of assessors from the Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP) were on campus August 7-11, 2017 to assess the university’s emergency management program by reviewing our collective plans, policies and procedures, conducting interviews, and witnessing demonstrations.

What is being assessed?

The university’s emergency management program is a whole community effort that involves departments and people throughout the institution, not just the Office of Emergency Management. The program is assessed against an industry standard – the Emergency Management Standard – that is developed by emergency management professionals with public input, and updated every three years to remain current and relevant.

How is Tufts assessed?

A team of assessors were on campus August 7-11, 2017 to review our collective plans, policies and procedures, conducting interviews, and witnessing demonstrations. The assessors are experienced peer emergency management professionals who work for other institutions of higher education and government agencies from around the country who seek evidence of if and how Tufts complies with 64 standards and 104 individual elements. The assessment team prepares a detailed report of their findings, which is then reviewed by a Program Review Committee, who will make a recommendation to the accreditation commission.

Why is Tufts going through this process?

Emergency management accreditation is a voluntary process that allows organizations to demonstrate excellence and accountability in emergency management. Since 2010 the Office of Emergency Management has looked to the Emergency Management Standard as a blueprint for building a thorough program to support university resilience. An assessment by peer professionals validates our efforts, and helps us also to identify areas to improvement with the benefit of an outside perspective, allowing us to strengthen capabilities before they’re needed in a disaster.

What is EMAP and the Emergency Management Standard?

The Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP) was created by a group of national organizations to foster continuous improvement in emergency management capabilities. It provides emergency management programs the opportunity to be recognized for compliance with industry standards, to demonstrate accountability, and to focus attention on areas and issues where resources are needed.

The ANSI/EMAP 4-2016 Emergency Management Standard by EMAP is the set of 64 standards (and 104 elements) by which programs that apply for EMAP accreditation are evaluated. The Emergency Management Standard covers: Program Management, Administration and Finance, and Laws and Authorities; Hazard Identification, Risk Assessment and Consequence Analysis; Hazard Mitigation; Prevention; Operational Planning and Procedures; Incident Management; Resource Management, Mutual Aid and Logistics; Communications and Warning; Facilities; Training; Exercises, Evaluations and Corrective Action; and Public Education and Information.

Who is accredited?

As of August 2017, there are nearly 100 accredited programs including the City of Boston and Commonwealth of Massachusetts.